Training Programme Director: Paul Woodhouse

Foundation Training Handbook

About the Dorset and Wiltshire Scheme

The Dorset and Wiltshire FD Scheme aims to achieve a varied programme of course days by ensuring the first term is spent cementing FDs knowledge already gained and providing a sound introduction to General Practice.

The second part of the year is spent extending boundaries to demonstrate the opportunities available to the new graduate and promoting the importance of continuing postgraduate education.

The Postgraduate Centre at the hospital where course days are held maintains a friendly atmosphere with helpful staff and Salisbury Hospital is fortunate to have its own Phantom Head Room where a number of hands-on course days are held through the year. The Oral Surgery and Maxillo-facial Department at the Hospital is keen to get involved in Dental Foundation Training with a result that FDs have the opportunity to spend time in the department if they wish.

Although the scheme may be considered rural in nature, FDs always manage to arrange a very effective social side to the year and good teamwork and support has always been promoted within the group establishing an enjoyable as well as effective year by way of introduction to postgraduate and general practice training.

Educational Supervisors within the scheme are always positive and encouraging, taking part in course days at Salisbury and FDs will get the opportunity to visit other practices besides their own to appreciate that practices run very differently. Course content and structure of the year provides an excellent start along the career pathway whether FDs intend spending their time in primary or secondary care.


Main Study Day Venue

Study days will be held at various venues. FDs are advised to check their scheme timetable.  

Dorset and Wiltshire Training Practices September 2024 - August 2025

Dr Revathi Arunachalam & Mr Benedict King

Mr William Breen

Dr Danielle Caddy

Dr Teona Dobraniste and Dr Arkadiusz Sobota 

Mr Alastair Hetherington & Ms Karan Ghataaura

Mr Nigel Jones 

Dr Sven Kalinda

Ms Teresa Martin & Mr Reg Yeow

Dr Rajan Mehta & Dr Neal Mehta

Mr Jonathan Mynors-Wallis & Ms Emma Hobby

Mrs Katie Perkins & Mr Andrew Morgan

Dr Jane Tidmarsh & Mr Keith George - Year 2 JDFCT Post