Covering the counties of Gloucestershire, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Wiltshire and Dorset, the South West region has excellent road and rail links throughout. Major centres include Gloucester, Swindon, Bristol, Taunton, Exeter, Barnstaple, Torbay, Plymouth, and Truro. The South West is renowned for its tourist industry, National Parks, coastline and the wide range of leisure facilities available.

From September 2022 there are 6 DFT schemes covering South West, each based in a different geographic area. Each scheme represents on average 12 training practices.

Bath and West

Bristol and South Cotswold

Devon and Coastal

Dorset and Wiltshire


West Devon and Cornwall


Useful Information

The Dental Foundation Training Handbook contains useful information on the DFT year

NHS Business Services information for Foundation Dentists



Many graduates who move away from their university or home town are concerned about accommodation. Some of our approved practices, especially those in Devon and Cornwall, will be able to advise and help you with finding somewhere to live.